new year, new experiences

This year has been a difficult one for me, in several ways. But I have learnt a lot about myself. I feel like every year, many feel like a changed person because of specific experiences in their lives. I especially feel that from this year.

I am close to embarking on a new adventure, in a new place for a long duration. I could not be more excited. One of the things I discovered about myself from this year is my restlessness, my longing for adventures, new places and new people.

I felt this feeling satisfied after my trip to Ghana this past summer. Going into a completely different culture and location had me anxious, excited and a little scared. But I also felt a weird sense of comfort in feeling completely ready and open-minded. I kept myself as void as I could be of expectations, and I opened myself up to the possibility of anything. I learnt I have an inescapable addiction of immersing myself with different cultures. My knowledge that people in another place could be extremely kind and personable was confirmed. I learnt that here, people are so scared of the quiet, and of connection without technology. I thrive off of connections with people, where it’s real. I learnt what it’s like to be the minority, to be in an uncomfortable position where I recognized my privilege more than ever.

I look forward to putting myself out of my comfort zone even more. I look forward to learning more and embarking on this adventure of studying abroad in Ireland.

Leave a Reply

